Anchor Man

When I was preparing yesterday’s post, I realised that I never actually showed you my mosaic projects from last year; so let me fix that now.

You might have seen my practice piece here, but I did go on to get (ever-so-slightly) better, and here’s the proof…

the_beginning moving_on adding_the_sea more_seabit_of_grout Finished!

This piece took over 10 weeks, and it was a labour of love!  It’s a combination of vitreous glass for the white borders, ceramic tiles for the anchor and stained glass for the sea.  It’s made from four shades of blue which I hoped would conjure feelings of a swirling ocean…did it work?

I got a bit addicted after that, so I signed up for some more classes.  As luck would have it, I found a little table on the street (the joys of living in South London) and it was crying out for a makeover.  I was of course, happy to oblige!

Table_2 Argyle_Mosaic_Table

It’ so colourful and vibrant, and never ceases to make me smile.  It also reminds me of an Argyle sweater, proving that everything leads back to knitting in the end!

We had a little exhibition at the studios too; it was the perfect way to end the course.

Mosaic_Gallery

Please check out the great work that goes on through Stockwell Studios, and mostly through Art4Space; then go get your mosaic on!

Leave a comment